top of page

Banquet Press Release

Carie Myers


Midwest Off-Road Racing (“M.O.R.R.”)

Contact Name: Dan Vanden Heuvel

Contact Phone: 920.915.8777

Contact Website:


Midwest Off Road Racing announces awards for 2018 race season.

Harris, Michigan – The Midwest Off-Road Racing (“M.O.R.R.”) Board celebrated the 2018 race season during their annual banquet on February 9, 2019. Pro and Sportsman racers were united to celebrate another successful race season in 2018. The event, hosted by Pro 2 Racer, Mike Vanden Heuvel and race announcer, Brent Smith, was held at the Island Resort & Casino and highlighted the accomplishments of all the off-road race classes represented during the 2018 race season.

Holtger Motorsports walked away with multiple awards, distinguishing this respected group of nine racers covering five separate race classes. Founded by Pro 4 driver Jeff Holtger back in 1994, Holtger Motorsports accepted one of the most prestigious honors, Team of the Year, an award received through nomination by their driving peers. According to Holtger Motorsports Light Buggy driver and recipient of the Farmer John Award, Stephanie Paitl says racing is a family sport through and through. “Parents, aunts, uncles, cousins - they all come out to support us and they all lend a hand with bringing a meal or turning a wrench on race weekends”. Other awards earned by Holtger Motorsports include the Tough Luck award going to Cory Holtger, 1600 Light Buggy racer and Most Improved awarded to Collin Paitl, Short Course Kart racer. John Holtger also took class champion for his work as a Mod Kart racer.

Byng Motorsports driver and Super Stock class powerhouse Nick Byng was also recognized in two categories, Hard Charger and Best Win. A strong contender in the Super Stock class, Byng made several visits to the podium in 2018 and walked away with the Crandon World Championship ring.

The M.O.R.R. Board wishes to thank Crandon International Off-Road Raceway and Bark River International Raceway for sponsoring the event’s cocktail hour, Lucas Oil for sponsoring the year-end toast, Holtger Brothers Utility Contracting for sponsoring the event candy bar, ERX Motor Park for sponsoring the event pizza hour, Nancy Vanden Heuvel for coordinating banquet theme and décor, Jessica Varner for organizing the baskets for the banquet raffle, and Proformance Media for providing the trophies, slideshow, and presentation.

Complete list of award winners:

Sportsman Awards

Most Improved - Collin Paitl, Short Course Kart

Tough Luck - Cory Holtger, 1600 Light Buggy

Hard Charger - Nick Byng, Super Stock Truck

Best Win - Nick Byng, Super Stock Truck

Rookie of the Year - Mike Kirkham, Super Buggy

Driver of the Year - Tony Keepers, 1600 Light Buggy

Team of the Year - Holtger Motorsports

Farmer John Award - Stephanie Paitl

2018 Class Champions

Short Course Kart - Aiden Wandahsega

Mod Kart - John Holtger

Classix - Aaron Konitzer

Formula 4x4 - Ben Passa

Stock Truck - Jordon Fellenz

Sportsman Side by Side - Gabe Johnson

1600 Light Buggy - Greg Stingle

1600 Buggy - Tony Keepers

Super Buggy - Michael Meister

Super Stock Truck - Jaime Kleikamp

Pro Stock UTV – Ryan Mulder

Pro Mod UTV - Rodney VanEperen

Pro Lite – Kyle Kleiman

Pro 2 - Mike Vanden Heuvel

Pro 4 - CJ Greaves


Stephanie Paitl accepts the Farm John award Photo Credit: Proformance Photography & Digital Media

Cory Holtger displays his Tough Luck award Photo Credit: Proformance Photography & Digital Media

Collin Paitl receives the Most Improved award Photo Credit: Proformance Photography & Digital Media

Nick Byng take two with the Hard Charger and the Best Win awards Photo Credit: Proformance Photography & Digital Media

John Holtger earned his position as Class Champion for the Mod Kart class Photo Credit: Proformance Photography & Digital Media

Holtger Motorsports is honored as the Team of the Year Photo Credit: Proformance Photography & Digital Media

For more photos of this event, please like our page at

Midwest Off Road Racing is a team of short-course off road racers that compete in the Upper Midwest of the United States. The team’s mission is to insure affordable racing for the Midwest Sportsman Off Road Racer by uniting racers with a common voice. By maintaining affiliations with approved sanctioning bodies, M.O.R.R. strives to allow the competitor and the enthusiast to enjoy off road racing now and in the future.

Recent Posts

See All


2019 Call for Candidates MORR is looking for Candidates for our 2019 Board Member Election. The two Board Member positions that are up for election are currently held by Greg Stingle and Don Demeny. I


bottom of page